So tonight I had shrimp and was thinking what to do with them, at home we make shrimp scampi often.  However at home I have pounds of shrimp not just a half pound.  So I plugged in shrimp scampi into the ole search engine and found a recipe that involved pasta.   Figured it would be a great way to stretch my shrimp.  It turned out ok, as he said it was weak.  Meaning it needed more garlic and butter.  Over all it was a quick easy way to make it.

 

I forgot to take my photo before we ate (I was starving)  so it’s not a pretty as it was before we attacked it.  Still looks yummy though if I do say so myself.

Shrimp Scampi

Ingredients

  • 1 pound pasta (I used thin spaghetti)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 pinch red chili pepper flakes 
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 pound shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon parsley, chopped
Directions
  1. Cook pasta as per package directions.
  2. Heat the oil and melt the butter in a pan over medium heat.
  3. Add the red chili pepper flakes and garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  4. Add the shrimp and saute until cooked, until they are pink.
  5. Remove the shrimp from the pan.
  6. Add the chicken stock and lemon juice and bring to a boil.
  7. Simmer the liquid until reduced by about half.
  8. Add the butter, wait for it to melt and turn off the heat.
  9. Add the shrimp, pasta and parsley and toss to coat.
